About


WRITER | PERFORMER | COMEDIAN | THEATRE MAKER | PERFORMANCE ARTIST | ACTIVIST | EDUCATOR | PRODUCER

‘An exceptional new talent’  The Herald

Both brutally honest and gloriously unpredictable, Sophie Willan takes inspiration from her unusual life experiences, to make bold, unapologetic and political work. A force to be reckoned with, she exudes confidence and northern charm.

‘Wise, confessional and bloody funny’  The List

In 2015 powerhouse Sophie Willan secured funding of over £100k to create the dynamic multi-platform project, Stories Of Care. The work Stories Of Care does with Care-Leavers across Greater Manchester has become a national talking point, establishing Sophie as one of the UK’s leading ambassadors for Homeless Young People and Care-Leavers.

Sophie Willan was born to do this’  Beyond The Joke

In 2016 Sophie took her debut hour On Record, based on her experiences of growing up in and out of the Care system, to the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. A total sell out run and phenomenal critical acclaim followed, securing Sophie’s place as one of the most exciting rising stars in British Comedy.

‘An exciting new force in British comedy’  London Is Funny

Sophie also works as an Educator in many different contexts including Key Note Speaking, Panel Speaking, Facilitating Creative Workshops and Mentoring Artists.

Alongside this, Sophie is a Panel Member for Swiis Foster Care, where she contributes to the decision making process of potential and current Foster Carers.

LIVE

  • January 2017

  • Wed 11 January : Hot Water Comedy Club

    The Holiday Inn MORE INFO
  • February 2017

  • Mon 13 February : Queer Contact Comedy

    Contact Theatre, Manchester MORE INFO
  • Fri 17 February : Mother’s Ruin

    Contact Theatre, Manchester MORE INFO
  • Fri 24 February : Preview

    Pleasance Theatre, Islington MORE INFO
  • March 2017

  • Sat 04 March : DOUBLE BILL On Record + Preview

    The White Bear, Bristol MORE INFO
  • Sun 05 March : DOUBLE BILL On Record + Preview

    The White Bear, Bristol MORE INFO
  • Thu 09 March : DOUBLE BILL On Record + Preview

    Northern Stage, Newcastle MORE INFO
  • Fri 10 March : DOUBLE BILL On Record + Preview

    Theatre In The Mill, Bradford MORE INFO
  • Sun 12 March : On Record

    The Lowry Theatre, Salford MORE INFO
  • Thu 16 March : DOUBLE BILL On Record + Preview

    Brewery Arts Centre, Kendall MORE INFO
  • Fri 17 March : DOUBLE BILL On Record + Preview

    Beggars Theatre, Millom MORE INFO
  • Thu 23 March : DOUBLE BILL On Record + Preview

    CAST, Doncaster MORE INFO
  • Mon 27 March : DOUBLE BILL On Record + Preview

    Farnham Maltings, Farnham MORE INFO
  • Fri 31 March : On Record

    The Marlborough Theatre, Brighton MORE INFO
  • April 2017

  • Sat 01 April : On Record

    The Marlborough Theatre, Brighton MORE INFO
  • Thu 06 April : On Record

    The SOHO Theatre, London MORE INFO
  • Fri 07 April : On Record

    The SOHO Theatre, London MORE INFO
  • Sat 08 April : On Record

    The SOHO Theatre, London MORE INFO
  • Sun 09 April : On Record

    The SOHO Theatre, London MORE INFO
  • Mon 10 April : On Record

    The SOHO Theatre, London MORE INFO
  • Tue 11 April : On Record

    The SOHO Theatre, London MORE INFO
  • Wed 12 April : On Record

    The SOHO Theatre, London MORE INFO
  • Thu 13 April : On Record

    The SOHO Theatre, London MORE INFO
  • Fri 14 April : On Record

    The SOHO Theatre, London MORE INFO
  • Sat 15 April : On Record

    The SOHO Theatre, London MORE INFO
  • May 2017

  • Thu 04 May : On Record

    Wise Words Festival, Canterbury MORE INFO
  • Fri 05 May : On Record

    Wise Words Festival, Canterbury MORE INFO
  • Fri 12 May : The Boat Show

    Tatershall Castle, London MORE INFO
  • Sat 13 May : The Boat Show

    Tatershall Castle, London MORE INFO
  • June 2017

  • Fri 23 June : DOUBLE BILL On Record + Preview

    Pontardawe Arts Centre, Swansea MORE INFO

Media

storiesofcare

is a dynamic project founded by award winning Writer/Performer and Care Leaver, Sophie Willan.

Putting Care Leavers in the driving seat, Sophie facilitates a 10-week writing programme and a 10-week illustration programme for 20 participants across Greater Manchester. Based on their own experiences, each participant is creating a fictional short story or series of illustrations to be part of a vibrant new children’s anthology. Participants will work with a published children’s author and an acclaimed illustrator to develop the anthology before publication. The book will also feature stories from professional writers who are also Care Leavers including Sophie Willan, Lemn Sissay and Louise Wallwein.

The book will be launched at the 2017 Manchester Children’s Book Festival.

For more info: www.storiesofcare.co.uk

Sophie Willan Stories Of Care